Big Cities, Bright Lights…and Earthquakes

December in Japan has been quite busy with exams, traveling, and trying to cram everything in before I leave. As my last few travel destinations in Japan I decided to check out the big cities, starting with Osaka. Osaka is a beautiful city and to say it is large is an understatement (especially considering I was lost most of the time). Needless to say, the skylines were beautiful and the lights were amazing, it was especially stunning at night. I also enjoyed some delicious and famous Takoyaki.

View of Osaka

View of Osaka

IMG_2899

My last and final stop during my travels was Tokyo. Calling Tokyo a big city is like calling Edmonton a little chilly in the winter time. I’ve always considered myself a “city person”; that was until I went to Tokyo and realized how broadly the term city is used. Tokyo is by far the largest metropolis I’ve ever been to. I was fortunate enough to stay with a very nice Japanese girl I had met on my last trip to Tokyo who was kind enough to invite me into her home and show me around.  I had an amazing week visiting all the typical sites and some not so typical sites; everything from Tokyo Tower and the Rainbow Bridge to a couple of animal cafés. It was an amazing trip and after being pushed into a few subway trains and experiencing my first ever earthquake at the top of the World Trade Center building, the week was eventful to say the least. I even had the privilege of attending a University of Alberta Alumni event while I was there. It is incredible what a “small” world we live in and how even 10,000 km away, in a giant place like Tokyo, we can experience a little bit of home.

Rainbow Bridge

Rainbow Bridge

IMG_3104

LOVE, Shinjuku

IMG_3140

Cat Café

IMG_3249

Tokyo Tower, view from World Trade Center building

After these amazing trips it was time to come home and study for finals. The semester is coming to an end and I can’t believe my time in Japan is too. It has been incredible and the time has flown by. Just a little while left then I’m Edmonton bound. I’m just trying to absorb as much as I can before then!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

